The Governing Body

The role of Governing Body

The Governing Body of St Mary’s is made up people representing the Parish, the Local Authority and the School. Many of these are parents, staff and members of the congregation. We are responsible for ensuring the school’s commitment to nurturing our children in a Christian environment and to showing them the importance of tolerance, understanding and mutual respect within our diverse community.

Governors work closely with the Headteacher in the development of the school. We monitor every aspect of school life and make sure that the school offers the very best experience and opportunity for each child. We also monitor the progress of children, the curriculum, the buildings and the budget and are a ‘critical friend’ to the Headteacher. We ensure the school is a safe and healthy environment for all children and are responsible for the implementation of the safeguarding and child protection policies.

The governing body meets at least once a term as well as in committees for Resources, Curriculum & Achievement and Children, Families & Community – see below for more information on the committees.  You can contact the governors via The Clerk to the Governors on:

Chair of Governors – Stuart Goldberg

Co-Vice Chair of Governors -Charlotte Adlam and Ian Blaney

Link Governors:

Each Governor has at least one ‘link’ subject or key area which they look after and report on.

  • Upper Phase (Year 5 & 6) Feyisa Demie (Associate Governor)
  • Middle Phase (Year 3 & 4) Angela Loulopoulou
  • Lower Phase (Year 1 & 2) Stuart Goldberg
  • Nursery / EYFS (Nursery & Reception) Aaron Khan
  • Safeguarding & E-Safety Stuart Goldberg
  • SEND & Disadvantaged groups Charlotte Adlam
  • BAME Venetia Brown
  • SIAMS Fr Bruce Batstone
  • Training Aaron Khan
  • Finance/Whistleblowing & Premises Ian Blaney
  • Human Resources Alice Greenwell (Associate Governor)


We have three active committees which meet once a term, and each governor sits on at least one committee. Their remit is below.

Resources Committee – This committee oversees the school finances, the school premises, health & safety and staffing.

Curriculum & Achievement Committee – This committee oversees pupil achievement, ensuring the school provides a high quality teaching and learning experience and delivers a broad and balanced curriculum in keeping with the school’s aims, pupil needs and legal requirements.

Children, Families & Community Committee – This committee oversees the school’s contribution to pupil well-being, and parental and community engagement. This includes the behaviour and safety of pupils, the promotion of healthy lifestyles and the contribution to the school and wider community.